I need more fiction in my life

How did it come to This? I have become Old Before My Time. I read almost nothing but nonfiction these days – blogs, white papers, books, you name it. The only nonfiction in my most recent Amazon order was the newest collection of Grant Morisson’s Doom Patrol. It’s been that way with my reading for awhile, but now I’ve noticed that this has crept over into my iPod behavior as well. When I’m listening to the iPod in the car or at the gym, I’ve been listening to podcasts like the Manoa Future Studies podcast series or, recently, the podcasts from TED and SXSW.

HELP!

It didn’t used to be this way. I used to read a LOT of fiction as a young man, especially science fiction. And, as a musician, I listened to a LOT of music: classical, jazz, pop, rock, hip-hop, bluegrass, whatever. It was all good. But now… Now I’m one of those sad old white guys reading and listening for “productivity” and “skills/knowledge enhancement.”

I really need to develop a plan and a budget (money AND time) for indulging in music and literature again. Any suggestions for how to go about this in a disciplined way? How about suggestions for the last good fiction you read (novel or short story) or last good album you listened to?

kthxbye

PS, Also? I need to play more video games. I’m waiting for Robert Allen to come out with a book that can show me not only how to Get Things Done, but how to also Add Three Fucking Hours To My Day.

5 Comments

Filed under Random Thoughts

5 responses to “I need more fiction in my life

  1. Patrick

    My favorite book is one I read my senior year in highschool called “Musashi” by Eiji Yoshikawa.

  2. Matt

    Robert Plant & Alison Krauss – Rasing Sand

    Son Volt – The Search

    Radiohead – In Rainbows (if you’re feeling experimental)

  3. Robert

    Dylan – Blood on the Tracks (Album)
    Sirens of Titan (but that’ll probably be at least 3nd read for you)
    Cat Stevens – Peace Train (Song)
    Discworld Series (I have all of them in a .rar I can send you if I ever get my compy up and running)
    Anything by Kaki King, Michael Hedges, or Preston Reed (If you’re into crazy guitar magic)

  4. CT Ransdell

    The last good album that I drowned my ears in (for that matter, am still drowned in) is the Eddie Vedder solo album for Into the Wild. I like seeing an alt-rock legend dive into the acoustic singer/songwriter category. He even pulls a few bluegrass instruments in there as well.

  5. mrmikerobinson

    Pick up “The Grand Pecking Order” by a super-trio named Oysterhead. It’s an album that invites you to dig into the respective discographies of each member. Happy listening.

Leave a Reply

