Here It Goes Again

Yes, I know this video is old. It still mesmerizes me.

Why?

It’s unexpected. Four guys doing a dance team routine on six treadmills and making it look effortless.

This is what I aspire to when I make a presentation. No, not acrobatics on gym equipment, but presenting the material in an unexpected fashion and leave my students buzzing about it for weeks afterward. Think different. It’s a cliche, but nobody ever got remembered for doing the same thing as everyone else in the same way as everyone else. Doing something different, something unexpected, is hard work. It’s easy to be mediocre. But boy, when you pull off the unexpected, when you innovate, it can be powerful and memorable.

Like this OK GO video. Over a year old and it still sticks in my head. I dream of delivering a lecture like that…

Leave a comment

Filed under Presentation, Teaching, Video

Leave a Reply

