Open Left and other progressive blogs

I just wanted to give a shout-out to a new Progressive blog, Open Left. Open Left was started by Chris Bowers and Matt Stoller, formerly of MyDD. According to Chris and Matt, they left MyDD to start a site that would be focused less on party politics and elections, and more on building a broad progressive movement and , eventually, governing majority. Chris wrote an excellent article on the site here. I highly recommend the site for daily reading. It’s become one of my must-read feeds over the last week or so.

I’ve grown really bored with a lot of progressive and liberal blogs recently. Daily Kos, frankly, bores the hell out of me, and when Bill O’Reilly decides to take you on, you know that you’re not really subversive or relevant anymore. Bill only takes on the easy targets. Daily Kos, as a site, feels kind of fat, lazy and upper middle-class right now. I also get the feeling that Kos is spending more time on the new sports blogs network than Daily Kos itself. but, hey, that’s his prerogative, and I’m sure as hell not going to begrudge him the money.

I enjoy Eschaton regularly, but I sometimes feel as if Duncan has grown bored with it all. I don’t want to piss him off by suggesting what he should write about (one of his big peeves – about which, generally, he is Very Correct), but I just don’t feel the energy there. Huffington Post is nice, as is the increasingly excellent Talking Points Memo, but they just don’t feel very, well…bloggy. They’re Official News Sites now. Firedoglake is really exciting right now, and Digby’s Hullabaloo is always great for the commentary. But Open Left, as a combo activism and blog site…well, it just really grabs me right now.

Maybe I’m just picky, but I feel like it’s time for Progressive Blogosphere 2.0, with fresh names and approaches.

I’ll blog about Kentucky politics blogs tomorrow. Then I’ll really feel like hanging myself. Come back, Mark Nickolas, come back!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging, Politics, Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

