CURRENTLY READING


The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable by Nassim Taleb.

This is one of those books that I have a feeling will have a massive impact on many disciplines, though it will take a while for it to get under the skin of enough young scholars and practitioners to do so. For my part, I am fascinated by the implications for the discipline of Political Science, which has traditionally focused on Gaussian thinking, as opposed to Long Tail, Paretian thinking. John Robb has an excellent post on what this might mean for political practitioners at his excellent Global Guerrillas blog here.

Over the coming weeks, I’ll be posting my thoughts chapter by chapter as I work through the book.

PS, Taleb had me at the mention of Eco’s “antilibrary.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Political Science

Leave a Reply

